Welcome, visitor! [ Register | Login


Kogi State University  

Kogi State University  


Kogi State University, located at Anyigba, is the university of Kogi, Nigeria.

About Us

It was established in 1999 by Prince Abubakar Audu, the former governor of the state. At the time of its establishment, it was known as Kogi State University, It was named Prince Abubakar Audu University (PAAU) in 2002 and later renamed Kogi State University in 2003 (KSU).

Professor S.K. Okwute (Professor of Chemistry) was the pioneer Vice Chancellor (2000 – 2005) and currently back to University of Abuja. Professor F.S. Idachaba (OFR), Professor of Agric-Economics, took over between 2005 and 2008 and has now retired to work in his foundation (F.S. Idachaba Foundation for Research and Scholarship). Professor I. Isah (Professor of Chemical Pathology), from Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, took over in October 2008. The incumbent Vice Chancellor is Professor M. Abdulkadir.

Kogi State University commenced academic activities in April, 2000 with six faculties: Faculties of Agriculture, Arts and Humanities, Law, Management Sciences, Natural Sciences and Social Sciences. The university added the establishment of Faculty of Medicine with extensive office and laboratory complexes. The Centre for Pre-Degree and Diploma Studies was established under the present University administration to run diploma and pre-degree programmes. Students of the pre-degree programme could gain admission into the degree programme if they are successful in the internal exams and need not write the Post-UTME exams.

The university offers many courses such as Medicine, Law, Microbiology, Biochemistry, Geology(combined), Physics, Mathematics, Computer Sciences, Law, Public Administration, Human Kinetics, Industrial Chemistry, Statistics, Business Administration, Accounting, Banking and Finance, Theatre Arts, Food, Nutrition and Home Sciences, Agricultural Engineering, Economics and Extension, Crop Production, Animal Production, Soil Science, Food Science and Technology, Fishery and Forestry, Islamic Studies, Religious and Philosophy, English, History and International Studies, Sociology, Mass Communication, Economics, and Chemistry. 98% of the courses offered in the university are accredited by the Nigeria University Commission (NUC).

Although not very popular, the university is one of the best in Africa, with some of its departments being ranked by Nigerian professional bodies as the best in Nigeria. Some few years ago, the Faculty of law was pronounced as the best in Nigeria, and has remained among the best in subsequent years. Also its department of Geology has been rated as one of the best in Africa, alongside Obafemi Awolowo University, and the University of Ibadan. Presently, it hosts a library which is home to a large collection of expensive specialized books, materials, and a nd a[clarification needed] Geologic station, both contributed by Shell Petroleum Development Company as an appreciation of the department’s exceptionally-strong intellectual capacity development attitude.

Visit our website for more information.

No Tags

1106 total views, 1 today


Listing ID: 7515a122cd27ae1f

Report problem

Processing your request, Please wait....

American Dollar Converter


Address: Siriniyah Mah. 1514 Sok Liderkent 2 Sit 6B/3 
Zip Code 07010
City: Antalya (district Muratpasa) 
Country: TURKEY
VAT Number: V.D. 008 0088 5919

Garanti Bank Istanbul Turkey
Bank account: 320/9068693
IBAN: TR93 0006 2000 3200 0009 0686 93

Translate »